Papa Malcolm Punks it Up

Something about the chord changes in this song moves me, and it has been stuck in my subconscious since the mid 80’s.
The urinating goat is a rustic touch. The Kung-Fu film shots, the fancy footwork, the great guitar sound and the serious singing by the Queens cancel out the fact that Malcolm is making an ass of himself. I want to know what the lyrics are to this song from Duck Rock (1983). This is one of the craziest African grooves I know of. The guy with the shades reminds me of J.J. (“DY-no-MITE”) from Good Times. If I were to tell you more about why I love this song, you wouldn’t believe me…

The only words I can make out as sung by the Mahotella Queens (if it is indeed them) :

♪♫ ♫  “Oh no you can’t change the world  –
Sorry forever / then you get up and go…”
♪♪ ♫♪♫

Leave a Reply

