Book of Rules

Isn’t it strange how princesses and kings
Can clown their capers in a sawdust ring,
Just like poor people like you and me will be builders for eternity.
Each is given a bag of tools, shapeless lives and a book of rules.
Each must make his life as flowing ink
Tumbling black on a stepping stone,
Just like poor people like you and me
will be builders for eternity.
Each is given a bag of tools, shapeless lives and a book of rules.
Look where the rain is falling from the sky
I know the sun will be only missing for a while
And I say small people like you and me will be builders for eternity
Each is given a bag of tools, shapeless lives and a book of rules.
Written by Barry Llewellyn and Harry Johnson
2 comments on “Book of Rules

  1. marie rehman says:

    hi! this is marie rehman, I met you last weekend at peacejam…. scrolling through yr page which I don’t have the time to dig fully into at the moment, but I have to say I particularly like these lyrics. I forsee a night of insomnia ending up on this page in the near future.

    Like

    • drew says:

      Of all the stuff here, you found one of the songs that I consider pure gold. The wisdom of the lyrics is eternal. Roots-reggae gives me strength to go on. Thanks for visiting. Explore some more when you can, Marie.

      Like

Leave a Reply

