A to the B to the B to the A

bestofabba

I tried to tighten up my ABBA poem
but I’m not sure if the 10-syllable per line version works as well.
Can anyone offer feedback?

Glimmerings of ABBA

Fantasy turned blonde  in ‘seventy-six.
Bjorn, Benny and the flickas ruled the West.
Santa Lucia never shone so blessed
as she did in my private Euro-mix.
Perfect pop longs for that feminine fix.
Cassette wheels whirred –  branding, then impressing
grooves upon the brain; my thrall confessing
love for Nordic light (in Disco metrics).
The names still strike flames, kindling bright renown:
I Do… (times fiveand will forevermore).
Those Viking voices sacked my harbor town.
Frida, Agnetha  –  your longships linger
portaging hope to this shipwrecked singer,
enwreathing smiles to reach our further shore.

[original version):

Emerging global fantasies turned blonde for me in ‘seventy-six.
Bjorn, Benny and the flickas sailed the radio waves from East to West.
Santa Lucia’s crowning princess never shone so blessed
on midnight pines as she did in my private Eurovision-mix.
Perfect pop intensifies the longing for that feminine fix.
Cassette wheels whirred – first branding, finally impressing
deep grooves upon the brain; my pre-pubescent thrall confessing
helpless love for Nordic light (in thumping Disco metrics).
The names still hum, strike flames, kindle bright renown:
Bang a Boomerang, SOS, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do (and will forevermore).
Those Viking visages sacked and razed my little harbor town.
Frida Lyngstad, Agnetha Fältskog  –  your longships linger
syllables flicker, portaging hope to every shipwrecked singer
Enwreathing smiles in evergreens to reach our further shore.

Leave a Reply

