Misfit Manifesto

boxin gloves

Gang of Four vs. Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Who will win? They can’t BOTH be right.
It’s leftist art-school 80’s rockers
against the Lutheran theologian hung by Nazis.

They greet – and…    there’s the bell !

Don’t help me I can save myself / if I’m incomplete don’t fill the gaps
Save me from the people who would save me from myself –
they got muscle for brains…
For reasons that are not mysterious / the weak are sent to the wall
They have reservations in heaven / down here they’re not so fashionable
Don’t help me I can save myself / if I‘m incomplete don’t fill the gaps
Save me from the people who would save me from myself –
they got muscle for brains…
For reasons that are not mysterious / morality’s used as a tool
The poor are told to be contented / but in this life they’ve no choice at all
Don’t help me I can save myself / if I’m incomplete don’t fill the gaps
Save me from the people who would save me from myself –
they got muscle for brains…
For reasons that are not mysterious / the weak are sent to the wall
They have reservations in heaven / down here they’re not so fashionable…
Don’t help me I can save myself / if I’m incomplete don’t fill the gaps
Save me from the people who would save me from myself –
they got muscle for brains…
Save me from the people who would save me from my sin –
they got muscle for brains…

boxin gloves

But BONHOEFFER  bounces back
with some existential punches of his own:

“By ‘mourning’ Jesus, of course, means doing without what the world calls peace and prosperity. He means refusing to be in tune with the world or to accommodate oneself to its standards. Such men mourn for the world, for its guilt, its fate, and its fortune. While the world keeps holiday, they stand aside, and while the world sings, ‘Gather ye rose-buds while ye may,’ they mourn. They see that for all the jollity on board, the ship is beginning to sink. The world dreams of progress, or power and of the future, but the disciples meditate on the end, the last judgement, and the coming of the kingdom. To such heights the world cannot rise. And so the disciples are strangers in the world, unwelcome guests and disturbers of the peace.”

Dietrich Bonhoeffer: The Cost of Discipleship, Ch. 6: The Beatitudes
21 comments on “Misfit Manifesto

  1. Curt says:

    Good stuff mate!

    Like

  2. Arkenaten says:

    Hey, Andrew, how was the movie? How about a review?

    Like

    • Andrew says:

      I found it fascinating – but then I have always loved archaeology. The producers did not hide their bias – but they also gave equal time, in some cases more time, to those archaeologists who do not support the documentary’s thesis. It was left open-ended and there were no polemics which was refreshing. I can tell you more later and I can send links of reviewers who do a much better job than I could. There were only about 45 people in the theater – one of 2 venues where they showed it in my city.

      Like

      • Arkenaten says:

        I look forward to reading more reviews.
        Are you now more convinced of a Biblical Exodus than before?

        Like

      • Andrew says:

        We are called to have faith but it is helpful when faith is bolstered by historical documentation – still, the film did not show the thesis as being proven and vindicated by any means. It put forth the idea that Egyptian and Bronze Age chronologies should not be seen as infallibly established, but open to discussion and perhaps adjusted as archaeological evidence is dug up and analyzed. One of the most convincing parts of it, for me, was when they discussed the site of Jericho, which was excavated and documented by someone who did not have any interest whatsoever in the Biblical narrative – and yet that same archaeologist’s findings seemed to confirm the events as related in Joshua (Jericho and the conquest of Canaan).

        They never even mentioned the chariot-wheels encrusted with coral on the sea-floor…not sure why they skipped over that. Perhaps they didn’t want the research to be tainted by Ron Wyatt’s conjectures !

        Here are some links to reviews:
        http://www.theglobaldispatch.com/patterns-of-evidence-exodus-review-new-analysis-puts-pressure-on-science-for-truth-55166/

        http://biblicalremains.com/another-broken-arrow-in-the-quiver-of-apologetics-a-review-of-the-film-patterns-of-evidence/

        http://crossexamined.org/navigating-patterns-evidence-biblical-exodus/

        All in all, I think the film is challenging for both sides of the debate – but it was not hiding its scriptural bias.

        Like

      • Arkenaten says:

        Who was the archaeologist that re-examined Jericho, Andrew? Can you recall?
        Thanks for the links, by the way. I shall give the a squizz.

        Like

      • Andrew says:

        Ark you can be affable when you want – but I wonder if you are just playing good cop with me now before you unleash a withering storm of sarcasm…
        still – someone who likes Classical guitar along with Hendrix can’t be all that nasty ☺

        The name of the British archaeologist who excavated Jericho in the 1950s is Kathleen Kenyon:

        http://tinyurl.com/lmgkh24

        What’s a squizz?

        Like

      • Arkenaten says:

        Sorry, Andrew, I misunderstood you. No sarcasm intended with this query.

        But consider I am filling a dump truck full re: Brant Woods. 😉

        I thought you meant there was a different archaeologist to Kenyon mentioned in the movie . Yeah, I know about her. Top notch.

        A squizz is colloquial for a quick look. I have already read the cross examined link.
        Not that impressed so far.
        Wasn’t happy with the unnecessary references to the NT and Jesus of Nazareth at the end. That was a sneaky bit of polemic.
        We’ll see…
        No judgement call yet, so hang fire. 😉

        Really , I am not a nasty bloke, I just abhor
        apologetics and William Lane Craig tactics to bamboozle the ignorant, weary and footsore.

        Let me read the other links. Later ….

        Liked by 1 person

      • Arkenaten says:

        Okay, just finished. Larry Largent’s review is the only one worth its salt, to be honest.
        And I am a bit disappointed that there are no secular reviews – yet?
        I’ll wait a while before I dig some out -if there are any?

        Bottom line ( not having seen the movie_) sounds like a big yawn that Christians will be saying ”Oh yeah!” and punching the air
        ( Ken Ham and Ron Wyatt acolytes, I suspect) or leaving theaters saying ”Duh.” and scratching their heads.

        Maybe of Mahonney had used outakes from Indianna Jones his street cred would have been better?

        I think you are going to have face the cold hard truth, Andrew.
        And to paraphrase one of the actors in Life of Brian:
        ”He’s making it up as he goes along.”

        Be an atheist. Much easier. Trust me on this.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Andrew says:

        Mahoney was transparent in presenting himself not as an expert but a filmmaker interested in the faith narrative.

        As far as ‘cold hard truth’ I am not sure which is harder/easier in the end.

        I have been an atheist – hence my esteem for things like Nietzsche’s writings, bands like Gang of Four, and certain punk rock groups, satire such as Monty Python, Brass Eye, etc. I still love this stuff, although at times it does bump up against my faith in Christ.
        I am no stranger to cognitive dissonance!
        I was just now musing on how ironic it is that both Biblical Christians as well as Atheists have a similar “hold out to the end / don’t weaken and sell-out” mindset. It is a bit amusing to me. As long as minimal courtesy can be maintained, it at least ought to make for mutually interesting dialog. I look at current events and honestly believe I could join with liberty-loving Anti-Christian atheists in resisting the bloody Ishmaelite religion seeking to impose global theocracy. I am not interested in reviling people who reject the New Testament. I think the Islamic Caliphate-types could care less about degrees of belief among us or the lack thereof. We are all cursed unbelievers to them and they have no regard for free expression or liberty to believe what you want. As a Christian, I DO esteem those things very highly.

        Like

      • Arkenaten says:

        What you are faced with as a Christian as far as the Exodus goes is an insurmountable uphill struggle against archaeology, and , quite frankly, common sense.
        Even if … and you cannot imagine how big that f would be if the comments allowed to type in 72 font the Exodus did happen and if plonkers like Woods was correct woth his time line ( bearing in mind it doesn’t fit in with anything else, or answers questions such as – how the hell did 2 million people slip by the Egyptians who actually had a military prescence in the area?)

        You now have to come to terms with the other aspects of the Story.
        The parting of the Red Sea, for one.
        Okay, now we know that the this is a mistranslation – you do know this, yes?
        It is the Reed Sea. But the bible is innerrent isn’t it. Isn’t it?

        Then there’s Jericho. So Kenyon is wrong? Oh is she? Not according to carbon dating.
        So Joshua really did blow a horn and the walls came tumbling down.
        But the evidence is against this.
        And unless you are prepared to kick common sense completely into touch then stuff like this is just pandering to the fundies.
        I wouldn’t touch Woods with a barge pole.

        Honestly, I just cannot see why Christians want to hang on to this crap for dear life.
        The real world does not require blood sacrifice any more than it requires a fictitious octogenarian to climb up s chuffing mountain to meet a god in a cloud of smoke and hang around while this lazy bastard of a deity orders this old guy to chisel out his life command on two pieces of frigging stone.
        Let’s get real shall we.
        What on earth made you decided to become a Christian, for the gods’ sake?
        Andrew, my man. Read my lips.It didn’t happen. It is a load of horse manure.

        Like

      • Andrew says:

        By the way – who said Kenyon was wrong?
        You mean in her dating of the Jericho ruins?
        I recognized her as the archaeologist mentioned in the documentary – that’s all.

        Like

      • Arkenaten says:

        I did not say ( you said) Kenyon was wrong.
        Her dating is considered accurate as far as I am aware. This suggests that Jericho was deserted before ”Joshua” ever got there.
        As far as I understand it.

        Like

  3. Arkenaten says:

    I am deadly serious. Why are you a Christian?

    Like

    • Andrew says:

      I realized I was a sinner and a rebel against God and put my faith in the finished work of Christ.

      Like

      • Arkenaten says:

        Sinner? Who says?
        Which god?
        What do you mean ‘rebel’?
        ”Finished work of Christ.” Please explain what this means?

        Like

      • Andrew says:

        Ark – you are welcome at my blog but I don’t have the time or energy to wrangle with those who do not have faith. I am a Christian – that’s all you need to know. I have no doubt you are aware of the basic doctrines – if to you they are unfounded and worthless doctrines, so be it.
        I could cut and paste things from the New Testament and or Theology/Apologetics but that would be a waste of our time. I’m just some guy with a poetry blog who happens to be Christian.

        Like

      • Arkenaten says:

        No problem …

        Like

  4. Diane Roberts Powell says:

    Hey Andrew,

    Watch out for that slimeball Crowley and also Nietzsche. They both have much in common–mainly that they were both psychopaths. Of course, Crowley was clearly the more evil of the two: he reveled in his wickedness. But when I read Nietzsche I also see a man who was without conscience. He was rather proud of it, wasn’t he? And just look at how much his philosophy influenced the Nazis. I used to actually LAUGH at the Christians on TV (in the 70s) who warned about satanism and such. I, too, grew up in a home without religion. If people only realized how evil some people truly are, they wouldn’t want to leave their homes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Andrew says:

      I like what you say here.

      Fred N. was a mess I am sure. I just like the poetry of Zarathustra a lot. I used to read Crowley and now regret it somewhat. He was a dangerous egomaniac. Did you hear about his ascent of the Himalayas?

      http://tinyurl.com/kl8z5bj

      [If people only realized how evil some people truly are…] – you mean the Crowleyesque Nietzscheans or the 70’s TV Christians ? ☺

      I am glad you visited and hope you can add some good commentary like at Scarriet.
      You can even be mean if you want.

      Like

Leave a Reply

