Waiting for Resurrection

Waiting ForMagic

And when he came into the house,
he suffered no man to go in,
save Peter, and James, and John,
and the father and the mother of the maiden.
And all wept, and bewailed her:
but he said: Weep not; she is not dead, but sleepeth.

And they laughed him to scorn, knowing that she was dead.

And he put them all out, and took her by the hand,
and called, saying: Maid, arise.
And her spirit came again, and she arose straightway…

[from the Gospel of Luke 8:52-55, KJV]
Waiting for magic…
A man of the world, but lost in a dream / You look at something from a different angle
But I exist – I’m waiting for you / In a coffin made of glass
Kiss me baby I’m attractive Baby get to know me / Show who you are
Give me that music, baby I’m eternal /Lying in a coffin /Waiting for you
In your dream a girl is dancing close to you (that girl is me)
Once a witch made her sleep but a prince will wake her up (it’s you)
Kiss me baby I’m attractive Baby get to know me / Show who you are
Give me that music, baby I’m eternal / Lying in a coffin / Waiting for you
Waiting for magic… ♪♫♫
Kiss me baby I am Snow White sleeping in a coffin / waiting for you
Waiting for magic, baby I am Snow White sleeping in a coffin / Waiting for you
Waiting for magic  (it’s what I do…)
Waiting for magic…  (for me and you, ohhh – kiss me baby wake me up !)
Oh, Kiss me baby – wake me up
Oh, kiss me baby wake me up – come on baby…
Kiss me baby I am Snow White sleeping in a coffin / waiting for you
Waiting for magic, baby I am Snow White sleeping in a coffin / Waiting for you
Waiting for magic…

Why I like this text:
This song plays with themes of Snow White/Sleeping Beauty and enchantment but it can be taken further – to ideas of eternal recurrence, resurrection from the dead and the power of sublimated desire searching for the eternal feminine… all happening in the virtual discotheque of your mind.

I love Ace of Base. There is haunting melancholy in their lyrics, and depth to their songs under a seemingly superficial techno surface. It is conducive to a Nietzschean reading – but also lends itself to a Christian interpretation… in a disco sort of way.

Leave a Reply

