Fear Science

Did your parents also take you to see Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey when you were 8 as mine took me? I am only beginning to understand this pretentious and misguided film now – 40 years later. The men in monkey-suits are particularly disturbing. I recall it was a very long, slow movie – and parts of it were DULL. Now, as I read Nietzsche’s …Zarathustra, I find the words that inspired some of the most striking scenes of this outdated but fascinating movie:

“…for fear is the original and basic feeling of man; from fear everything is explicable, original sin and original virtue. From fear my own virture too has grown, and it is called: science. For the fear of wild animals, that was bred in man longest of all — including the animal he harbors inside himself and fears: Zarathustra calls it ‘the inner beast.’ Such long old fear, finally refined, spiritualized, spiritual-today, it seems to me, this is called science.”

Thus Spoke Zarathustra
Walter Kaufmann translation from evankozierachi.com

2 comments on “Fear Science

  1. colonialist says:

    The minute I hear ‘Also Sprach Zarathustra’ I think of ‘2001’, and vice versa.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Andrew says:

    Yes – same here.
    I probably would never have liked the music if I hadn’t seen the film when I was young-
    and that association made me interested in the text by Nietzsche years later.

    Like

Leave a Reply

