Wildwood Flowers

Oh, I’ll twine with my mingles and waving black hair / With the roses so red and the lilies so fair
And the myrtle so bright with the emerald hue / The pale amanita and eyes look like blue
Oh I’ll dance, I will sing and my laugh shall be gay / I will charm every heart, in his crown I will sway
When I woke from my dreaming, my idols were clay / All portion of love had all flown away
Oh he taught me to love him and promised to love / And to cherish me over all others above
How my heart is now wond’ring no mis’ry can tell / He’s left me no warning, no words of farewell
Oh, he taught me to love him and called me his flow’rThat was blooming to cheer him through life’s dreary hour
Oh, I long to see him and regret the dark hour / He’s gone and neglected this pale wildwood flow’r

The Carter Family: 1935

The Carter Family

The Carter Family: Helen, Anita, June

Flatt & Scruggs

Emmy Lou Harris

Rosanne Cash

Reese Witherspoon

 

 

 

4 comments on “Wildwood Flowers

  1. madblog says:

    Check out Social Distortion’s version.

    Like

  2. lang3063 says:

    Well this made my day. Thanks!

    Like

  3. madblog says:

    It’s actually Mike Ness. My jury’s out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

